Period house with pool in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs

Period house with pool in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs

2 Commentaires

Kerrie

Dernière connexion

Ce mois-ci

Membre depuis 

avril 2010

  • Cette personne est un supermembre. Elle a déjà échangé sa maison, répond rapidement aux demandes ou son annonce a été vérifiée par l'un de nos moyens d'authentification. Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus.


Lancez-vous

Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés commecelles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Proposer un échange

Commencez à organiser un échange avec ce membre dès maintenant

Dates souhaitées


Rédiger un message personnel

Indisponible

Indisponible

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 chambres
Couchages 6
3 salles de bain
Traduire cette page dans une autre langue

Notre maison

PLEASE NOTE THAT OUR HOUSE IS NOT AVAILABLE OVER THE CHRISTMAS-NEW YEAR PERIOD. WE ARE FULLY BOOKED FOR THE REST OF 2019 AND EARLY 2020.

Our Victorian-era home was built in 1892 and renovated in 2007, retaining its charm and original features. We added an architect-designed extension to the rear which, while modern, is sympathetic to the older part of the house. There are two distinct living areas, one at either end of the house, so you have plenty of room to spread out.

In the original part of the house, which is at the front, there are three bedrooms, plus a double lounge-dining room with piano, stereo and gas "coal" fire. The main bedroom has a king-sized bed (183cm wide x 203cm long) and the second has a double bed (137cm wide x 187cm long), plus a desk. The third bedroom is currently used as a child's playroom, with a sofa which folds out into a double bed. We have a wooden baby's cot which can be assembled in this room.

All bedrooms have built-in wardrobes (those in the second and third bedrooms are partly used for storage but there's plenty of space for guests' clothes). None of the bedrooms has an en suite bathroom, as we didn't want to spoil the original character of the house.

The new section, with easy-care tiled floor, comprises a large open-plan kitchen, casual dining area and family room, with 106cm flat-screen TV, DVD player and stereo, plus many books, CDs and DVDs, as well as a gas-flame fireplace. This room opens via glass bifold doors on to a dining terrace, with mains gas barbecue, overlooking the 9 x 3-metre solar-heated saltwater pool.

There's a lock-up garage, accessed via the rear lane, with a small bathroom attached - perfect for showering after a swim.

There's also a rainwater tank for topping up the pool, and watering the vegie garden and potplants.

Back indoors, the main bathroom has a large tub and separate shower stall, while the second bathroom, which doubles as a laundry, has a shower, washing machine and dryer.

One of our favourite places is the wild front garden, which provides privacy when we sit on the verandah with coffee and the morning paper, watching native birds feeding on nectar from the flowering Australian plants.

Five generations of our family have lived in this house, so it holds a very special place in our hearts.

Options et accessibilité

2 Commentaires

En savoir plus sur nous

  1. Alan and Kerrie have both had long careers in journalism, and Kerrie also has an Honours degree in prehistoric archaeology. Alan is retired, while Kerrie works part-time. We have three adult children, two in Australia and one in London, plus four young grandchildren.
    When travelling, we are sometimes joined by a couple of friends or family members; other times, there are just the two of us. We would, of course, specify who would be travelling with us when negotiating an exchange.
    We have enjoyed 22 home exchanges since 2010.
    Our 14-year-old cat, Smudge, is a free spirit. She would appreciate being fed by you twice a day but if you are allergic to cats, we can arrange for neighbours to care for her.
    Please note that we don't want to have to clean at the end of our stay, so are happy to pay for a professional - and assume this would be reciprocated - or to swap cleaning services with you. We have a team of four cleaners who come for an hour once a fortnight and we can arrange for them to continue this service during your stay if needed, at your expense (currently $125 per service).

Disponibilités

White
Flexible
Green
Disponible
Red
Indisponible

Localisation

Quartier

We are fortunate to live in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs, brushed by balmy sea breezes. Bondi and Tamarama beaches are about 2km away - an easy downhill walk - and Bronte, with its magical ocean pool, is only a little further. We are also just a stone's throw from beautiful harbourside beaches and pools, and Sydney Harbour National Park.

There are other fabulous parks nearby, including 189-hectare Centennial Park, where you can ride a horse or a bicycle, feed the water birds or picnic beneath tall paperbark trees. Or you can catch a ferry across the harbour to Taronga Zoo, one of the world's finest.

Opportunities for eating out, from ultra-casual to fine dining, are seemingly endless and there is a vibrant cafe culture. As well, Sydney has a thriving arts scene, with many galleries, theatres and, of course, our World Heritage-listed Opera House, which is easily reached by bus from our place.

We are well served by public transport, with numerous bus routes running past the end of our street and Bondi Junction railway station about 10 minutes level walk away. The city centre is around 5km, or three stops on the train.

Whether you're after groceries or a designer handbag, Bondi Junction is a shopping mecca, as is nearby Double Bay. There are also several farmers' markets in the area, operating on different days of the week.

For more information about our city and local area visit:

www.australia.com/destinations/cities/Sydney.aspx
www.australia.com/articles/nsw_bondi_bronte.aspx
www.waverley.nsw.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0003/12882/BondiVisitorMap.pdf
www.australia.com/things_to_do/Things_To_Do.aspx

Découvrez aussi