Restored miner's home on 2/3 acre in delightful country town. Peaceful, private.

Restored miner's home on 2/3 acre in delightful country town. Peaceful, private.


Dernière connexion

Plus d'un mois

Membre depuis 

mars 2006


Vous voulez partir en vacances dans des propriétés commecelles-ci? Commencez tout d'abord par inscrire votre propriéte.

Proposer un échange

Commencez à organiser un échange avec ce membre dès maintenant

Dates souhaitées

Rédiger un message personnel



Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 chambres
Couchages 4
1 salles de bain
Traduire cette page dans une autre langue

Notre maison

Our home is a late Victorian era weatherboard house built by a miner. We have spent nearly 7 years restoring it. We've tried to give our home a feel of the old days with modern conveniences.

Our furniture is in keeping with the era where possible, although not formal antiques. We have a comfortable, relaxed environment yet we take great pride in our house.

We have 3 bedrooms, 1 queen size, small guest room with 2 singles, and third room is my sewing room. We have one bathroom but we don't have a bath, only a shower. We have a living room and also a small sitting room adjoining the kitchen (we use this room most evenings).

The kitchen is not the modern variety but perfectly functional. We've tried to keep it sympathetic to our renovation.

We have ducted evaporative cooling throughout the house.

Options et accessibilité

En savoir plus sur nous

  1. We are Elli (accountant) and Mick (carpenter). Mick is a considerate smoker - he has never smoked in our home and most certainly wouldn't in yours.

    We have a family of friendly bantam chickens that could be cared for by a neighbour.

    During our time together we've developed a passion for Australian history, old houses, antiques, and since living in the goldfields we love learning about the history of our region.

    We'd love to spend some time in England and think a home exchange would be the ideal way to do that.

    We now have an exchange planned for April 2007. We're open to suggestions for future dates. We'd prefer somewhere out of London. We're particularly keen on the Cotswolds.





Our town is in the midst of the Victorian goldfields. It's a small town with a lovely village atmosphere and main street wonderfully preserved. Antique stores, bookshops and cafes as well as the newsagent, butcher, hardware store, small supermarket etc. 3 pubs! 10 min walk to main street shops.

We are 1 1/2 hours by road from Melbourne on an excellent highway (or train service from the next town), and 1/2 hour from Bendigo (a city with every amenity but also a wonderful gold mining history).

Ideally situated for exploring the state. Victoria is very diverse with pristine beaches, vibrant cities, rainforest, ski resorts, dry arid areas and lovely small towns.

Day trips:
Melbourne - shopping, beaches, museums, galleries, theatres
Echuca - Murray River, paddelsteamer history
Ballarat - gold history, Sovereign Hill
Great Ocean Road - stunning coastline and beaches
Phillip Island - fairy penguins, beaches
The Grampians & Halls Gap - national park, walks

** Possible use of small unit in Melbourne on tram line direct to city centre. Great location. **

Découvrez aussi